11 April—13 April 2020

Train rides

Statement regarding coronavirus (COVID-19):

Due to these uncertain times, train rides have been postponed until further notice and M Shed is closed. To stay informed about all future and rescheduled events, please consider joining our mailing list. Thank you for your continued support and understanding.

__

Take a steam train ride on Bristol Harbour Railway from M Shed. The train will be pulled by the locomotive Portbury.

Dates for 2020

  • Saturday 11 – Monday 13 April
  • Saturday 25 – Sunday 26 April
  • Friday 8 – Sunday 10 May
  • Saturday 23 – Monday 25 May
  • Saturday 6 – Sunday 7 June
  • Saturday 20 – Sunday 21 June
  • Saturday 4 – Sunday 5 July
  • Saturday 18 – Sunday 19 July
  • Saturday 1 – Sunday 2 August
  • Saturday 15 – Sunday 16 August
  • Saturday 29 – Monday 31 August
  • Saturday 12 – Sunday 13 September
  • Saturday 3 – Sunday 4 October
  • Saturday 17 – Sunday 18 October
  • Saturday 24 – Sunday 25 October
  • Saturday 31 October – Sunday 1 November

Bristol Harbour Railway was built by the Great Western Railway in the 1870s and extended in the 1900s. After a century as a goods railway, it was handed over to the museum and has run as a heritage railway ever since. The railway runs on the quayside between M Shed and the ss Great Britain or alongside the New Cut to Vauxhall footbridge, giving a choice of scenery on alternate routes.

Our two Bristol-built steam locomotives, Henbury and Portbury, served their working lives on the docks railway system at Avonmouth. The wagons are types once commonly seen on the docks at Avonmouth and here in the old City Docks.


More rides on the Working Exhibits