25 June—26 June 2022

Train rides

Take a steam train ride on Bristol Harbour Railway from M Shed. The train will be pulled by the locomotive Portbury.

Bristol Harbour Railway was built by the Great Western Railway in the 1870s and extended in the 1900s. After a century as a goods railway, it was handed over to the museum and has run as a heritage railway ever since. The railway runs on the quayside between M Shed and the ss Great Britain or alongside the New Cut to Vauxhall footbridge, giving a choice of scenery on alternate routes.

Our two Bristol-built steam locomotives, Henbury and Portbury, served their working lives on the docks railway system at Avonmouth. The wagons are types once commonly seen on the docks at Avonmouth and here in the old City Docks.

Dates for 2022

  • Saturday 25 – Sunday 26 June
  • Saturday 16 – Sunday 17 July
  • Saturday 30 – Sunday 31 July
  • Saturday 13 – Sunday 14 August
  • Saturday 27 – Monday 29 August
  • Saturday 3 – Sunday 4 September
  • Saturday 17 – Sunday 18 September
  • Saturday 1 – Sunday 2 October
  • Saturday 22 – Sunday 23 October
  • Saturday 29 – Sunday 30 October

Tickets

Buy tickets on the day from the ticket office by the M Shed platform.

Single £3 / Return £4.50
Children under 6 years old travel free. Dogs welcome. Trips last approximately 15 minutes.

Additional information

Please note, M Shed’s large working exhibits are operated by volunteers. Occasionally crew shortages, mechanical difficulties or adverse weather conditions may force us to alter or cancel the advertised event.

We advise you to check with us to avoid disappointment by calling 0117 352 6600.


More rides on the Working Exhibits