Explore the harbour aboard the world’s oldest steam tug, built in Bristol in 1861.
Dates for 2016
- Saturday 29 – Sunday 30 October
The little steam tug Mayflower was launched from a shipyard at what is now Pooles Wharf on 18 May, 1861. She went to work on the ship canal between Sharpness and Gloucester and managed a working life of over 100 years.
Mayflower then spent 15 years narrowly avoiding the scrap yard before she came back to her birthplace in 1981 to be restored by staff and volunteers from Bristol Museums, Galleries & Archives.
Since then, Mayflower has been a familiar sight in the harbour, running regular weekend trips for those who enjoy the peace and serenity of steam-powered ships.
Read more about Mayflower over on the Working Exhibits section.
Image credit: Neil Phillips