In September 1577 an English explorer, Sir Martin Frobisher brought three Inuit from Baffin Island.
This group included an adult male, Kalicho, an unrelated woman, Arnak, and her infant child, Nutaaq.
The Inuit made a considerable impression in Bristol. They dined at the Mayor’s house and had their portraits painted multiple times. The Bristol chronicles recorded their activities. Huge audiences watched Kalicho’s duck hunting displays when he would sail in his own kayak.
This walking tour will explore their time in Bristol including their reception in the city and how it was set in the broader context of performance.
The walk will take in major places in the story, including The Gibtailer (Arnolfini), The Marsh (Queen’s Square) and Welsh Back. The walk will end at St Stephens Church, where Arnak and Kalicho were buried, following their untimely deaths in early November.
Finish: St Stephen’s Church.
Led by Dr Evan Jones, University of Bristol
The summer walks are sponsored by the Friends of Bristol Museums, Galleries & Archives