1 May—30 October 2022

Blaise Castle open afternoons

Make a day of it on the Blaise Estate and join the Friends of Blaise as they open Blaise Castle for the afternoon.

Blaise Castle was designed by architect Robert Mylne for owner Thomas Farr in 1766 at a cost of £3,000. It was originally used as a summer house to entertain guests with a viewing platform on top – Thomas Farr is said to have watched his ships sail along the Bristol Channel from its roof.

Visit on one of the Friends of Blaise open afternoons and you can explore the inside of the Castle before climbing the spiral stairs to the top!

Opening times

The Castle is open on from 2pm to 4.30pm (subject to weather and volunteer availability):

  • Sunday 1 May
  • Sunday 15 May
  • Thursday 2 June
  • Friday 3 June
  • Sunday 19 June
  • Sunday 17 July
  • Sunday 31 July
  • Sunday 14 August
  • Sunday 28 August
  • Sunday 18 September
  • Sunday 16 October
  • Sunday 30 October

Open afternoons are run by the Friends of Blaise and not Blaise Museum. Opening is subject to weather conditions and volunteer availability, please check the Friends of Blaise website for regular updates.

About the Friends of Blaise

Friends of Blaise is a volunteer led charity who work alongside Bristol City Council and other local groups to support, conserve, improve and promote this wonderful estate and the wider Trym Valley.

The Friends were formed in 1981 by a small group of local residents. They raised money to restore the Castle, which had fallen into disrepair after a fire destroyed the interior in 1954. Today, the Friends of Blaise open the Castle throughout the year for visitors to enjoy. They also run a wide range of volunteer activities that benefit the Blaise Estate.  Become a member to help conserve, improve and promote this wonderful estate.